top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

5 Ways to SAVE on Groceries


So, I’m not a super couponer…I have a binder, I know the principals and enjoy getting some super deals, but I find that I save more money sticking to these principals rather than stocking up on coupon items. If you are new to couponing and want to learn more check out The Krazy Coupon Lady. That’s my favorite couponing site.

NOW, onto the list.

1. Set your budget.

This is a really important step. How will you know how much you are saving your family if you just go shopping haphazardly? The average budget is $100 per person per month for groceries, toiletries, etc. My family is on a super strict budget, so we don’t factor our toddler into the budget other than $25 each month on diapers through amazon mom (I will post about this later).

I shop once every week. (Schedule your trips, it’s easier without kiddos in tow, and if you only go once a week and don’t make extra trips, you will definitely save time and money.) My budget is $50 per week which is $200 per month, or $100 per month, per adult. I thought this was going to be CRAZY low for us, but most weeks with this system I come in under budget! ($31 was my lowest trip). I keep a running tally of the prices of every item that goes into my cart on my phone so I’m not surprised when I hit the register.

2. Make a list.

I can’t stress how important this is. Plan your meals, inventory want you have on hand, and stick to your list. If it’s not on the list it doesn’t go in the cart.

Some people like to stock pile, and I believe this is important to an extent. When you see you are getting LOW on a staple and it’s on sale, put it on your list, but don’t just buy things because they are on sale or you have a coupon. I find that we have tons of extra crap I should just stop buying, so I did (I’m talking face wash, 3 different scents of deodorant, hair care products, etc.) Use the items up, then buy them. You don’t need 5 different body washes. STOP buying them because they are on sale or because you have a coupon. You will save a TON.

3. Grab your physical coupons, or online coupons.

You can’t use your coupons if you don’t have them…common sense here. Lol. I’m also a big fan or the coupons that are linked to reward cards. These you can add when you are in the store if need be.

Remember, don’t buy it just because you have a coupon…It will go on sale again and more times than not the generic is cheaper. Always look at the price per unit to make sure the deal you are getting on the brand with the coupon is cheaper than the generic!

Now, when you are tallying your total as you shop, I wouldn’t factor the coupons in. It’s always more fun to estimate high and come in low. I LOVE when I come in under budget!

4. Get your rebates.

I love rebate apps! Use the same principal here that you are using with the coupons. I never look at the apps to decide what to buy. I plan my list, and look at the apps after I have my receipt to see what I qualified for. This is probably counter intuitive to most, but if you don’t need it, is it worth the 20c rebate to buy it? NO.

I like ibotta, which usually has staples like milk, bread and cheese, and will let you get rebates on generics. I also like checkout 51 and Saving Star because they often have rebates on fresh produce (checkout 51 has 20c on bananas most weeks, and I buy them every week). The Saving Star and Kroger apps also usually offer a free item on Fridays, so check that out. I also like using the Walmart savings catcher when I shop there. It’s super easy to use, but I never get much back.

With all that being said, the apps can be a pain in the butt. You have to keep your receipt and scan all the items. But once you get used to doing it as you put away your groceries it’s not so bad, and over time it really adds up.

5. Freeze extras or roll them over into other meals.

So you meal plan, and have all that fresh food, but your mother in law invites you over for dinner one night. Don’t let that food go to waste. If you can’t save it for another day, freeze it, or cook it when you get home and eat it the next day…or freeze it. You can freeze almost anything.

I will do multiple posts in the future about meal planning and roll over meals, but here’s an example of stretching that dollar as far as it will go.

Meat is always expensive, so we try to buy it on sale, freeze it, and stretch it as far as it will go. So, we bought a flank steak for $8. Ate it as steak night one. Night two I cut it small and used it in burritos (steak, rice, beans, cilantro lime rice, corn, cheese, grilled onions). Then I took what was left over and made burritos for the freezer. (We were able to make 5 burritos for the freezer). So this little $8 steak made more than 3 meals for 2 people. It’s all about getting creative and not wasting those dollars!

I hope this post was helpful! And don’t stress if you aren’t perfect at first, practice makes perfect and what works for some, may not work for all. Hit me up if you have any questions or suggestions!!! I’m always looking for ways to save a dime!

XOXO

Morgan LeFaye

bottom of page