top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Save Money, Shop Local


I recently took my son blueberry picking at a local farm. It was a great family outing, Payne was eating blueberries right off the bush and playing in the garden. Hanging out there is completely FREE and the blueberries were a great price! Usually at the grocery store I pay 2-3 dollar for a small container of blueberries. At the farm I paid $2.35 for close to a pound of blueberries! If you want to get a lot of berries I suggest going early in the season and early in the day. Our farm opened at 9 a.m., we were there by 9:30, and the bushes were almost whipped out by 10. It seems like that would be a problem, but it wasn’t too bad.

This is a great free activity for the kiddos because you have to go early in the day and it doesn’t take very long. My child is always in a better mood in the mornings before he uses up all his energy playing, and small trips are just more manageable. It also didn’t hurt that snacking while he played was encouraged. (Don’t worry, I did ask about chemical use on the plants and they were ok to eat off the bush) We had so much fun that we are going to start making regular trips to the farm.

There are 3 farms in my area that offer berry picking during the spring/summer season. Check out local farms in your area for family friendly activities and fresh produce.

XOXO,

Morgan LeFaye

bottom of page